Conclave Session 6

Climate Change: Transformation of Energy Sector

Date & Time: 17th December 2021; 3:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Venue: Online Mode

The details of the session can be seen in the following table:

Sr No Topics Speakers Time Recorded Videos

Welcome (5 min)

Prof. Shireesh Kedare (PiC CoE-OGE)

3:00 pm to 3:05 pm

 2 Introduction and Opening Remarks on the session by the moderator Prof. Rangan Banerjee (DESE, IITB) 3:05 pm to 3:15 pm  Opening Remarks
     3 Presentation: Prospects of new investments in refinery sector (15 min) Mr. Gaurav Srivastava (Executive Director, Oil Marketing & Downstream Consultancy, IHS Markit) 3:15 pm to 3:30 pm                   Presentation
     4 Presentation: Initiatives for energy transition: Focus Blue H2, CO2 to Chemicals (15 min) Dr. Ramchandra Rao (General Manager, (R&D) HPCL) 3:30 pm to 3:45 pm           Presentation
     5 Presentation: Initiatives for energy transition: Focus Biofuels, Green Hydrogen, CCU (15 min) Shri. Sachin Chugh, CRM & CEA to Dir (R&D), IOCL 3:45 pm to 4:00 pm                      Presentation
     6 Presentation: Sharing Experiences on CCU for the oil and gas sector and the Challenges ahead (15 min)

Prof. Sebastian C Peter, Associate Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore 

4:00 pm to  4:15 pm                                                          Presentation
     7 Presentation: Prospective technologies for overall cost reduction of H(15 min) Prof. Suddhasatwa Basu (Director of CSIR - IMMT) 4:15 pm to 4:30 pm                      Presentation
 8 Presentation: India's Vision For Energy Transition  Smt. Usha Suresh (Sr Economic Advisor- MoPNG) 4:30 pm to 4:45 pm Presentation
 8 Panel Discussion: Transformation of energy sector (75 min) Smt. Usha Suresh (Sr Economic Advisor- MoPNG), Shri Sachin Chugh - CRM & CEA to Dir (R&D), IOCL, Dr. Ramchandra Rao (GM (R&D) HPCL), Prof. Sebastian C Peter, Associate Professor (JNCASR), Prof. Suddhasatwa Basu (Director of CSIR - IMMT), Shri. Gaurav Srivastava, Executive Director, IHS Markit 4:45 pm to 6:00 pm                                       Panel Discussion


Organizing committee:

Chair - Prof. Rangan Banerjee (DESE, IITB)

Members -

Prof. Subimal Ghosh (Civil, IITB)

Prof. Srinivas S (DESE, IITB)

Prof. Anand B Rao (CTARA, IITB)

Prof. Vikram Vishal (Earth Sciences, IITB)

Shri Alok Sharma, Dr. G S Kapur (IOCL)

Shri S Bharathan (HPCL)

Dr. Mathur (OIL)